Skip to content Skip to navigation

Political Science

Magna Inácio

Magna Inácio is an associate professor of Political Science and former director of the Center for Legislative Studies (CEL-DCP) at the Federal University of Minas Gerais (UFMG). She holds a PhD in Political Science from UFMG, and has been a Visiting Scholar at the University of Oxford (2012) and German Institute of Global and Area Studies (2014; 2016).

Carlos Pereira

Carlos Pereira is a full professor in the Brazilian School of Administration – EBAPE at Getulio Vargas Foundation (FGV), Rio de Janeiro. Currently, he is Edward Laroque Tinker Visiting Professor at Stanford University. He was a visiting scholar at Hertie School of Governance, Berlin, a visiting fellow at Brookings Institution, and a research fellow at University of Oxford. He was also an assistant professor in the Department of Political Science at Michigan State University and professor of the São Paulo School of Economics at FGV.

Robert Packenham

Robert Packenham, Professor Emeritus of Political Science, taught in the Department from 1965 to 2006 in the fields of comparative and Latin American politics.  He has also been a research fellow at the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars and the Hoover Institution and a visiting professor at universities in Latin America, the UK, and the US.

Terry Karl

Professor Karl has published widely on comparative politics and international relations, with special emphasis on the politics of oil-exporting countries, transitions to democracy, problems of inequality, the global politics of human rights, and the resolution of civil wars. She has conducted field research throughout Latin America, West Africa and Eastern Europe. Her work has been translated into 15 languages.

Stephen Haber

Stephen Haber is A.A. and Jeanne Welch Milligan Professor in the School of Humanities and Sciences and Peter and Helen Bing Senior Fellow of the Hoover Institution at Stanford University.  He is also Professor of Political Science, Professor of History, and Professor of Economics (by courtesy), a Senior Fellow of the Stanford Institute for Economic Policy Research, and a Senior Fellow of the Stanford Center for International Development.  Haber’s research spans a number of academic disciplines, including comparative politics, financial economics, and economic history.

Bruce Cain

Bruce E. Cain is a Professor of Political Science at Stanford University and Director of the Bill Lane Center for the American West. He received a BA from Bowdoin College (1970), a B Phil. from Oxford University (1972) as a Rhodes Scholar, and a Ph D from Harvard University (1976). He taught at Caltech (1976-89) and UC Berkeley (1989-2012) before coming to Stanford. Professor Cain was Director of the Institute of Governmental Studies at UC Berkeley from 1990-2007 and Executive Director of the UC Washington Center from 2005-2012.

Beatriz Magaloni-Kerpel

Beatriz Magaloni is an Associate Professor in the Department of Political Science and a Senior Fellow at the Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies (FSI) at Stanford University. She is also an affiliated faculty member of the Woods Institute of the Environment (2011-2013) and a Faculty Fellow at the Stanford Center for International Development.

Subscribe to RSS - Political Science